Titles of Things I Might Write Someday But Maybe Not Who Knows Lord Knows I Don’t

15 Jun

So as some of you know, I’ve been reading Lolita by the great Nabokov. Along with my voracious reading, I’ve taken on another project while reading the work that the back cover calls, “most of all…a meditation on love––love as outrage and hallucination, madness and transformation.” That project has been finding titles for novels or short stories I haven’t written yet. I know this probably sounds vain, conceited, preposterous, ridiculous, hilarious, crazy, stupid and preposterous of me, but I figure some of the greatest artists make random illusions to random lines from other random art. Maybe instead of novels, I’ll stick to keeping these as titles for short stories I’ve never written. Anyway, imagine this is the table of contents:

INVISIBLE GESTURES by dev varma

1. The Merciful Dark
2. She, Smelling of Crushed Daisies and Sweat
3. Our Favorite Seduction
4. A Semitranslucent Mystery
5. Lost in the Middle
6. Trying to Blot out the Sun
7. Invisible Gestures (because every good collection title has something to do with one of its stories, ala “Oblivion” or “Brief Interviews with Hideous Men” or “Goodbye, Columbus”) (that last parenthesis wouldn’t be included in the actual title, I don’t think) (neither would that one) (or this one)
8. A Make-Believe Conversation about a Book by Some Popular Fraud

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

By the way, I hope no one tries to take my titles, because I’m actually thinking about writing stories with them. On a side note, Hemingway used to write lists of titles that would span pages and pages in his notebooks. At least that’s what I read in an interview he gave that was printed in the back of an anthology with “Hills Like White Elephants”. Anyway, I wonder if I work the other way. Maybe not. Who knows. Lord knows I don’t.

2 Responses to “Titles of Things I Might Write Someday But Maybe Not Who Knows Lord Knows I Don’t”

  1. mike June 15, 2010 at 10:27 pm #

    I’m a fan of 2. Feels like Eggers, somehow.

    I think in titles all the time and then wonder if I’m making too big a sacrifice when they appear in the text of stories instead.

    • Dev Varma June 18, 2010 at 3:59 pm #

      eggers, you say? hmm, that’s interesting and a bit embarrassing, because i’ve never read any eggers. that’s just more embarrassing than anything.

      thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

