Introducing: 25 or less

29 Jul

John Dewey claims that meaningful artistic expression is the side effect of an artist’s experience with the resistive forces of hir craft. Expression happens through a medium and is catalyzed by the retarding force of friction located in either the paint, the canvas, the brush, the pad, the pen, or the vast et cetera of implements that the artist uses to express meaning. What makes these expressions more meaningful is the struggle between thought and medium, mainly of the struggle for thought to move through a medium.

I am in love with the idea of struggling through my medium. And with this newfound though always embedded love, I want to present to you my struggle. With words. I’m proposing for myself a new word game called 25 or less, where I take an idea, an emotion, a philosophy, or a story and cram it into 25 words. Or less. Don’t worry, I know it should technically be called 25 or fewer, but less just sounds better.

Either way, be on the lookout for my struggles with struggling with verbal expression. I hope it will entertain and provoke. And if it doesn’t work out, we can still discuss sandwiches till the cows come home. From Vegas.

5 Responses to “Introducing: 25 or less”

  1. Hallz July 29, 2010 at 1:53 pm #

    Yeah, too bad you couldn’t keep to it for this one.

  2. Andrew July 29, 2010 at 2:30 pm #

    Can we submit suggestions?

    • Dev Varma July 29, 2010 at 2:44 pm #

      Yes!

  3. Brent Butgereit July 29, 2010 at 3:03 pm #

    This statement is twenty-four words long: I commend the tenacity, but do you think you can put these ideas down this number of words?

    • Dev Varma July 29, 2010 at 6:04 pm #

      Is my intent not already apparent in my announcement? Look up the poet Mike Topp. His approach inspired this one. Writers are thieves. Mostly.

Leave a Reply

